A Look into the Future of Preparedness and Resiliency Provisions

As a small business owner, I find it is very important to understand the costs and trends that will affect my business and my bottom line.  With the ever-increasing turbulence in the world causing new stresses (weather, energy, economic) and more people becoming informed of our predicaments, I routinely reach out to my suppliers to get their feedback on their production status and future outlook. 

Here is my perspective on current trends relating to food products for shelf-stable food reserves and resiliency provisions in general.  In the 37 years that I have been in the natural foods, outdoor recreation, and emergency preparedness industries as a retailer and manufacturer, I have experienced a number of fluctuations and factors that have influenced the availability and pricing of foods and supplies for preparedness.  A number of current factors and converging events are affecting the preparedness marketplace today and potentially in the near future. 

In addition to my own present-day observations and experience as a retailer of food reserves and preparedness products, I have very recently surveyed a number of suppliers, processors and manufacturers for their assessment of current conditions in the marketplace and wish to share the results with you here. 

Appraisals, reports, and insights regarding the state of the industry

• The numerous and diverse potential scenarios associated with emergency and disaster preparedness is so pervasive in contemporary culture that a broad spectrum of citizens have begun to take some form of action.  Others are acutely aware of the probable dangers and are waiting for a significant triggering event to act.