Bob Fitzwilson: Investing in a Hall of Mirrors

I have been doing this for 40 years, and I have never seen anything like this. This is the most difficult, vexing set of conditions that any of us have ever seen -- in part, because not only is there a combination of many cross-currents in the markets, but you have financial repression going on at the same time. And there are resource constraints that are coming to play here, too. 

So states Bob Fitzwilson, President and Director at The Portola Group, Inc, one of the financial advisory firms endorsed by Peak Prosperity. 

As we've repeated warned here on the site, financial assets have marched well into fantasy territory. Time-honored price correlations have vanished. Bad news has become good news for stocks and bonds. Economic weakness is met with cheers.

I'm not the first person to use this phrase, but we're investing in a hall of mirrors. This is not supposed to happen. There cannot be a sustainable gap between the measures of how an economy is doing, such as the stock market, and the underlying factors.

It's true that there are companies, particularly larger companies, that have done very well. And there are some small and medium-sized companies that have done very well. But you cannot have a situation with unemployment high and real disposable income coming down without eventually there being a discontinuity.

From our standpoint, there has always been a connection between the GDP and the health of the economy, and workers and the markets. Now we have this widening gap; there cannot be a continuing rise in equity indicators while the real economy is heading in the wrong direction.

It's a very, very confusing, murky, opaque environment for investors. Whether you are doing it professionally or you are doing it yourself, everybody should realize that none of us has ever seen anything like this.