Dave Pare: Gold Is Looking Strong

This week, PeakProsperity.com's own precious metals analyst, Dave Pare, sits down to the microphone.

Better known on the site as davefairtex, he joins Chris to discuss his current outlook for gold and silver, his approach to building market models, and how he balances fundamentals versus technical analysis in assembling his macro views.

Dave has been a daily contributor to the site for years -- not just with his precious metals commentary, but also with thoughtfully constructed comments on a host of topics. His opinions are pointed, and occasionally controversial. But his ability to always challenge readers to think make him widely respected, even by those who don't agree with him.

In this podcast, we get the chance to learn much about the man behind the keyboard. It's well worth the listen:

I'm a software engineer. I went to UC-San Diego and then went into industry and did lots of different things. I was an individual contributor, an architect, a tech manager and then I found Peak Prosperity, and that sort of sidetracked my whole life. 

In my training as a trader, you can’t be over-focused on whatever your idea is of where things should be going, or where you think they should be, or what the value should be. Prices really do have to dictate what your reaction is. Prices in some sense are your reality.

That isn’t to say they reflect the reality of the real world; but they are your arena. If you ignore prices, you lose money. And, so from a standpoint of trading, prices are it. Prices determine whether or not you fail or succeed, whether or not your trade was good or bad. And, so in that sense, prices are everything.