Federal Reserve Ignites Food Panic

Lots of articles have recently come out about food shortages, riots, and rapidly climbing prices. Last August the Federal Reserve and European Central Bank started lowering interest rates, pouring liquidity into the world marketplaces, and trading prized treasuries for near-worthless debt. Food riots and central bank maneuvers are more closely linked than you might suspect.

Here's a selection of recent headlines about world food shortages, prices spikes, and hoarding that I've been gathering for a couple of months.

I want you to think very carefully about how rapidly this food situation began and morphed into a situation where nations began hoarding food. I want you to consider this because I have the same concern about oil. That is, once a slight shortage is openly felt in the marketplace, the time between normal trading of goods and hoarding can be a matter of days, if not hours.

Below, in the registered section, I will draw the connections and make the case that all of this began on August 16th, 2007 with the Fed's move to cut the discount window interest rate. Meanwhile, Wall Street parties on.

Rising Grain Prices Panic Developing World (Wash. Post)

(April 4, 2008) SHANGHAI -- A spike in the price of rice and other food staples is triggering consumer panic, including food riots in Yemen and Morocco, and hoarding in Hong Kong.

Governments around the world have taken radical measures in recent weeks to control their countries' supplies of rice. Egypt last week said it would ban all rice exports for six months. Cambodia has stopped all private-sector exports of rice, and India and Vietnam also have imposed restrictions.

Egypt's Rising Food Prices Swell Bread Lines (Bloomberg)