Using the Crash Course to Educate Teens

Can you imagine how it must feel to be a teenager today confronting your economic future? Do you go to college and incur a debt you will spend the rest of your life repaying? Or do you consider jumping right into the job market, and finding a job, any job, to begin to build a resume? I am an independent studies teacher at a small charter school, and students are my special interest. The Crash Course materials have played a valuable role in answering some of those questions that teens confront.

For my Independent Studies students, I provide a monthly assignment list for each course, which they must complete to graduate from high school.  On occasion, I teach small classes, but for the most part, I help students and families direct their own education.  I rely heavily on high-school textbooks (with some supplementary material) for students to read and write chapter reviews and reports.  Economics, in my opinion, is right up there with health and nutrition in terms of the most important information students must grasp to survive in today’s world. 

I am older, way older than my students and most parents, and emerged from a very different job market in the Baby Boomer era.  I completed a career with the federal government in a job with substantial budget responsibilities, and retired early in 2000.  I returned to my small hometown with a comfortable pension, a small nest egg, and, having almost completed a Masters in Business Administration, considered myself quite capable of managing my finances into my golden years.