The Financial Crisis Is Far From Over

I give really, really boring advice. For years it has not changed a whit, and that's just not the way to run a newsletter business.  There should be some movement, some pizazz, new things to ponder.  Instead I just keep saying the same thing over and over again.

Buy gold (and silver, too).

This is what I've been saying for the past seven years, ever since gold was in the $300's and silver was under $5, so you might be tempted to think I am simply another gold bug.  While I confess to finding a certain allure in heavy bullion coins - they sound great tossed on a counter and feel good in my hand - I am not really a gold bug.

Instead, what I am is a gigantic, unrelenting, anti-fiat-currency bug.  Well, at least I am anti-mismanaged fiat currencies, but that pretty much encompasses them all to varying degrees.

As with all investment,s I have an exit strategy in my mind that will dictate when I sell my gold and silver to place those funds in other productive investments.  Unfortunately, that day seems further away than ever.

Let me explain why.

The Euro Zone Bailout

As I pondered the many details of euro zone bailout, I came to the conclusion that it is little more than a shuffling of debt risk from one place to another, and I couldn't escape the larger conclusion that nothing had been solved at all.  Debt was merely shuffled from one location to another, from the banks to the public.

The bottom line is that Greece is merely the poster child for what happens to a country at the end of a long period of living beyond its means.  But it is by no means unique in having over-promised benefits to its citizens, and now faces a toxic brew of poor growth prospects, enforced austerity, demographic pressures, and an enormous mismatch between what has been promised and what can be delivered.